The other day I got the baby k’tan because I was interested in getting a baby carrier that was light weight and would be better to wear during the hot summer months. Currently I have the baby ergo 360, which I love, but I wanted to try something light weight and different. A friend of mine would not stop raving about her baby k’tan, so I did some research on it and decided to check it out. I went to Buy Buy Baby hoping to see different colors even though I knew I was most likely going to get black, but I wanted the option of getting a different color!  Of course they only carried it in black in store and if I wanted a color I had to order it and either have it delivered to me or the store. But I wasn’t sure I would like the color so I decided to just stick with classic black. (Kinda thinking backwards when I wanted this specific carrier to be for summer to keep both me and the nugget cooler!) 

First taking it out of the box: I thought to myself: how in the hell is this going to work? Is this even the right size? This is way too small, it’s tight, how the hell is my nugget fitting in this thing? This is confusing, the stupid book/pamphlet thing is confusing and stop saying you are going to start off wearing it as a necklace!

So, I started off already frustrated and just not sure what I was getting myself into, plus it was hot and I was clearly irritable. I attempt to put it on and see if I could figure it out. I used a small pillow as the nugget to see if I could get the hang of it. Last thing I wanted to do was put him in there incorrectly and have him fall out. But the pillow was a terrible idea and it made for things to go horribly wrong. I threw a tantrum! I ripped off the “necklace” baby k’tan and balled it up and threw it down, huffing and puffing and cursing out loud! So inappropriate, I don’t know what got in to me (really looking forward to those toddler years when my nugget throws tantrums hah, I totally deserve it). 

I cooled off, splashed water in my face, took a break and then decided to look up on YouTube how to use the baby k’tan. That proved to be much more helpful and I was able to understand it perfectly. Now, I’m not sure I have the right size, I am now thinking I might have gotten it too big. So much confusion! The sizing is so weird!!  

Anyways! Got the nugget in and he fell asleep right away. He loved it. Super light weight and easy to transport and very breathable. 

So all in all I think I like the baby k’tan. But today I found myself using the ergo instead of the k’tan. Guess it’s good to have options! 

Anyone else use a different baby carrier you really like?

